Captain Rosalie

By Timothee de Fombelle

Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault

An evocative, beautifully imagined and heart-wrenching wartime story by celebrated author Timothée de Fombelle.

In this astonishingly-drawn wartime story, perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, a little girl called Rosalie is a captain on a very secret mission – a mission to learn how to read. Mother reads often to Rosalie, especially when Father sends them letters from the front line describing the forest in the distance, the churned-up soil and the soldiers hiding in holes. But as Rosalie gets further along in her mission and begins to piece together the words in her father’s letters, the truth about the consequences of war are finally and irrevocably revealed.

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 8+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Hardback
  • ISBN: 9781406377101
  • Published: 01 Nov 2018
  • Price: £8.99
  •  
  • Size: 185 x 156 mm
  • Pages: 64

More to explore...

  • Captain-Rosalie
  • The-Book-of-Pearl
  • Vango-Book-Two-A-Prince-Without-a-Kingdom
  • Vango

More books for age 8+

  • Our-Jacko
  • Inkling
  • Fire-Bed-and-Bone
  • Pony-on-the-Twelfth-Floor

Customer reviews

Reviews

There are currently no reviews for this title. However, if you'd like to add a customer review, please fill in the form below.

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Hardback
£8.99

Find a local retailer:

  • Awards:

Also available in:

This title isn't currently available in any other formats

Recently viewed