Captain Rosalie

By Timothée de Fombelle

Illustrated by Isabelle Arsenault

An evocative, beautifully imagined and heart-wrenching wartime story by celebrated author Timothée de Fombelle.

In this astonishingly-drawn wartime story, perfect for fans of Michael Morpurgo, a little girl called Rosalie is a captain on a very secret mission – a mission to learn how to read. Mother reads often to Rosalie, especially when Father sends them letters from the front line describing the forest in the distance, the churned-up soil and the soldiers hiding in holes. But as Rosalie gets further along in her mission and begins to piece together the words in her father’s letters, the truth about the consequences of war are finally and irrevocably revealed.

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 9+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781406386806
  • Published: 03 Oct 2019
  • Price: £6.99
  •  
  • Size: 185 x 156 mm
  • Pages: 64

More to explore...

  • Captain-Rosalie
  • The-Book-of-Pearl
  • Vango-Book-Two-A-Prince-Without-a-Kingdom

More books for age 9+

  • William-Wenton-and-the-Lost-City
  • The-Steam-Whistle-Theatre-Company
  • The-First-Noel
  • Endangered-Animals
  • The-Dollmaker-of-Krakow

Customer reviews

Reviews

'The centenary of the First World War has brought a full postbag of titles about children and war, including Michael Morpurgo’s Our Jacko and Poppy Field and The Button War by the Newbery medal winner Avi, to name but a few. These three are excellent reads, but the greatest discovery has been a small book by Timothée de Fombelle, a French playwright and author known, but not previously by me, for his Vango adventure series and “Toby” books, who has collaborated with the talented illustrator Isabelle Arsenault… De Fombelle writes minimally for maximum effect and Arsenault’s mostly red, black and white ink and watercolours are stunning. A perfect little book about war, grief and peace that packs a mighty punch.' The Times

'[a] poignant, beautifully produced volume.' The Sunday Times

'“Captain Rosalie is a sensitive, at times playful and very moving glimpse into the past.”' The Scotsman

'“Incredibly sad, but written in a way that leaves you with hope. You might still need a handkerchief close by.”' Primary Times

'“Exquisite, heart-wrenching, and unforgettable... simply beautiful.” ' Fallen Star Stories

'“[…] a little book that delivers a mighty emotional blow. Highly recommended for readers of all ages.”' Young Post/South China Post

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Paperback
£6.99

Find a local retailer:

  • Awards:

Also available in:

Hardback

Recently viewed