Nobody Saw No One

By Steve Tasane

For fans of Benjamin Zephaniah, Kevin Brooks and Melvin Burgess: "Like being blasted in the face with a water cannon - absolutely vivid"-Guardian Children's Books Site.

Oliver Twist revisited for fans of Benjamin Zephaniah, Kevin Brooks and Melvin Burgess: "A pacey thriller with an underlying social commentary." -The Bookbag, 5* review Contemporary London – a gang of shoplifters up Seven Sisters Rd, snatching smartphones and stealing identities. Angel-faced Alfi Spar has fled the Tenderness Residential Unit and finds himself on the streets, until his old mate from the home, Citizen Digit, offers him a roof. But their past at Tenderness House is not ready to release them; the boys saw something nobody should see, and the badness is coming after them. 'Performance poet Steve Tasane brings style and originality to this modern-day take on Oliver Twist ... highly recommended' Sunday Express 'Amazing stuff' Big Issue

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 12+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781406350760
  • Published: 04 Jun 2015
  • Price: £7.99
  •  
  • Size: 198 x 129 mm
  • Pages: 320

More to explore...

  • Nobody-Saw-No-One
  • Blood-Donors

More books for age 12+

  • Helen-Oxenbury-A-Life-in-Illustration
  • Lou-Out-of-Luck
  • The-Wonder-of-Us
  • The-Goose-Road
  • Flying-Tips-for-Flightless-Birds

Customer reviews

Reviews

'Like being blasted in the face with a water cannon - absolutely vivid.' Emily Drabble, Guardian Children's Books Site

'This is a gritty, witty modern take on Oliver Twist.' Exepose

'It’s hard to find anything negative to say about Tasane’s second novel which I fully expect to receive every bit as much acclaim as his debut novel Blood Donors. Marketed for readers aged 12 and over, it’s certainly not suitable for a younger audience but I’d wholeheartedly recommend it for teenagers and adults looking for a good story and, perhaps, something to make them think.' The Book Bag

'It’s a gripping, fast-paced, satisfying and highly topical read, with some great characters – especially Digit, who becomes more and more appealing as his own background is revealed. I look forward to reading more from this author.' Books for Keeps

'Frenetic, punning, engaging, heartbreaking; paced like a bat out of hell / A witty, light, humorous touch upon horrors ' Imogen Russell Williams, Children's Books Consultant

'One of the most genuinely exciting new voices for young readers.' Jake Hope, Children's Books Consultant

'So much more than a great story - Tasane takes his language from the living streets and material from the vibrant present to create a superb novel.' Michael Moorcock, novelist

'A riveting book that casts light on a set of very topical issues ... pacey, frequently very funny ... genuinely gripping. / A book about bravery and strength and about standing up for right and good against the odds.' mythoughtsaboutbooks.blogspot

'Witty, gritty and disturbing ... a cutting-edge contemporary exploration of a care system in crisis and the determination of victims to survive.' BookTrust

'Witty and inventive ... Dickens for the dotcom generation.' Patience Agabe

'This witty, gritty and disturbing dual narrative story of abuse and exploitation starts as a modernised retelling of Oliver Twist but evolves into a cutting edge contemporary exploration of a care system in crisis and the determination of victims to survive.' Book Trust

'Dancing and mercurial ... a clear, rousing statement for the rights of the child.' Imogen Russell Williams, Guardian Books blog site

'Deals with a depressingly relevant issue with sensitivity, tact, depth and hope, as well as heapings of humour and heart. / Despite the brutal subject matter ... a very funny, incredibly moving, action-packed adventure with a fantastically endearing duo at its heart. I hope it gets the acclaim it deserves.' readingzone.com

'Performance poet Steve Tasane brings style and originality to this modern-day take on Oliver Twist ... highly recommended.' Sunday Express

'I loved this book so much and it was a joy to read something that was truly different from the rest of the market. The language was almost poetic and the two characters were simply superb. I jumped into this book not knowing anything about it but that was perhaps a lucky thing. I’ve seen since that it’s meant to be a “revisiting” of Oliver Twist which makes complete sense on reflection but I didn’t even connect the dots initially. How wonderful to have the skill as a writer to do that!' SisterSpooky

'It had everything I look for in a novel… great pace, tragedy, pathos, humour, despair… deeply engaging characters, a wonderful language and dialogue… twist and turns everywhere but most of all a book with a moral mission that by chapter 5, I wanted as much as the boys, and I expect the author Steve Tasane did too. Are there any happy endings in this book? I suggest you read it and find out for yourself. Highly Recommended. Bravo!' Poetry Express

'Amazing stuff.' Big Issue

'Nobody Saw No One is a vivid read with electrifying characters. If you are looking for a great read, and even better laughs, pick this book off the shelf, and don’t let your breath be stolen by the sheer awesomeness.' The Guardian Online

'This was a really scary book but it was fun to read. It was really fast paced and I kept wanting to read more.' Carousel

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Paperback
£7.99

Buy

Find a local retailer:

Also available in:

Ebook

Recently viewed