The Lone City 1: The Jewel

By Amy Ewing

A shocking and compelling new YA series from debut author, Amy Ewing; The Handmaid's Tale meets The Other Boleyn Girl in a world where beauty and brutality collide.

Violet Lasting is no longer a human being. Tomorrow she becomes Lot 197, auctioned to the highest royal bidder in the Jewel of the Lone City. Tomorrow she becomes the Surrogate of the House of the Lake, her sole purpose to produce a healthy heir for the Duchess. Imprisoned in the opulent cage of the palace, Violet learns the brutal ways of the Jewel, where the royal women compete to secure their bloodline and the surrogates are treated as disposable commodities. Destined to carry the child of a woman she despises, Violet enters a living death of captivity – until she sets eyes on Ash Lockwood, the royal Companion. Compelled towards each other by a reckless, clandestine passion, Violet and Ash dance like puppets in a deadly game of court politics, until they become each other’s jeopardy – and salvation.

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 14+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781406347494
  • Published: 04 Sep 2014
  • Price: £8.99
  •  
  • Size: 198 x 129 mm
  • Pages: 368

More to explore...

  • The-Lone-City-3-The-Black-Key
  • A-Lone-City-Novella-Garnet-s-Story
  • The-Lone-City-2-The-White-Rose

More books for age 14+

  • Ghosts-of-the-Shadow-Market
  • I-Will-Not-Be-Erased-Our-stories-about-growing-up-as-people-of-colour
  • Ghosts-of-the-Shadow-Market-8-Through-Blood-Through-Fire
  • Ghosts-of-the-Shadow-Market-7-The-Land-I-Lost

Customer reviews

Reviews

'Dystopia with a feminist edge…hugely enjoyable, with strong characters and a nail-biting cliff-hanger.' The Bookseller

'A very good dystopic tale with a brilliant ending that will leave you wanting to read the next instalment' Loves Books Read Daily

'A shocking and compelling new YA series in a world where beauty and brutality collide' Bookseller Children’s Guide

'WOW...truly unique. Horrifying and gripping all at once.' COMPANY

'With echoes of The Handmaid's Tale, this is a fascinating fantasy.' Marie Claire

'A fantastically original new fantasy which examines notions of identity and personhood against a lavish backdrop of opulent parties and riches galore. With dashes of magic, mystery and romance at every turn, there is real cross-genre appeal here and there is sure to be a large fan base once The Jewel hits the shelves. With a plot that is fresh and original and characters that are Intriguing, The Jewel is a brilliant debut, and one full of promise for a stunning series to develop. I, for one, cannot wait to see what else Ewing has to offer.' We Love this Book

'Forbidden romance, life-threatening danger and a journey of terrible discoveries await in this thrilling opener to a daring, dynamic new series.' Lancashire Evening Post

'Intriguing.' Books for Keeps

'Compelling and heart pounding' Bath Chronicle

'‘This dystopian, dark romance will appeal to fans of Allie Condie and The Hunger Games.' Reading Zone

'This book is truly incredible.' The Guardian Online

'This is a really good book, full of suspense and a real page-turner.' Teen Titles

'This breath-taking YA novel follows the story of Violet Lasting, who loses her identity when she is auctioned off as a ‘surrogate’ in the Jewel of the Lone City. […] We mean it when we say that The Jewel is impossible to put down – and be sure to watch out for that insane plot twist…”' Stylist

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Paperback
£8.99

Buy

Find a local retailer:

Also available in:

Ebook

Recently viewed