Wing Jones

By Katherine Webber

Debut novel about a mixed-race family hit by tragedy in 90s Atlanta from a talented young writer.

For fans of David Levithan, Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing's speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 12+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781406369090
  • Published: 05 Jan 2017
  • Price: £7.99
  •  
  • Size: 198 x 129 mm
  • Pages: 384

More to explore...

  • Wing-Jones

More books for age 12+

  • The-Goose-Road
  • Flying-Tips-for-Flightless-Birds
  • Landscape-with-Invisible-Hand
  • How-to-Hang-a-Witch
  • Poe-Stories-and-Poems
  • Tell-It-to-the-Moon

Customer reviews

Reviews

'“This lovely YA debut follows Wing Jones, a Chinese-Ghanaian highschooler, who, in 1990s Atlanta finds herself in the midst of family tragedy with only one escape: running. It’s a powerful and charming book about finding support and inner strength against the odds; it may prick your tear ducts a little, but when has a really good book not?” ' BuzzFeed

'“[…] this is a compelling and heartwarming account of finding hope even in the bleakest of circumstances. And while American reviewers are likely to praise the title for its racial diversity, it should also be commended for its sympathetic portrayal of a working-class family and the terrifying burden of medical expenses in a pre-Obamacare society.”' Irish Times

'I loved that it took all the building blocks of great YA, but made something really new and fresh from them. It's got some pretty teary moments but, ultimately, it's a triumphant read about finding your own strength.' The Pool

'A splendidly diverse domestic setup with vivid, evocative details ensures that the book’s big issues never feel unbalanced; and many readers will yearn for Wing’s guardian lion and dragon spirits (touches of magical realism here) to guide them through times of crisis' The Guardian

'Already lots of buzz about the debut from Booktrust staffer Webber and it's well deserved, an immensely readable novel about family. [...] Running is key to Wing's self-discovery and these scenes are some of the most striking in the book, really inspirational to see such a positive storyline about girls and sport.' Bookseller

'Wing’s story is heart-wrenchingly beautiful and her discovery of running as an outlet for her emotions demonstrates that you can do anything if your heart is in it. In a year where we all could do with some hope, Wing Jones shows the rewards of action, belief and achievement.... Magical and real, sad and triumphant. It explores grief, tragedy, perseverance, bullying, ambition, blossoming love, friendship, family and more. A truly beautiful book that everyone should pick up!' Mugglenet

'Wing is one of my favourite characters of the year […] You need to get yourself a copy as early in the New Year as you can. In fact get your pre-order in right now!, and start 2017 right!' Bart's Bookshelf

'“In a nutshell: Losing your way, running for your life, finding your feet A beautifully bittersweet debut in which a teenage girl discovers a latent talent that shines light on the darkest of times. Set in the run-up to the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, this is an expansive, heartfelt tale of loss, first love and self-discovery, and readers will truly root for Wing. Highly recommended for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell.”' LoveReading Joanne Owen January 2017 Debut of the Month

'“An emotional roller coaster of family loyalty, overcoming tragedy and self belief. Inspiring.”' South Wales Evening Post

'“A heart-warming, positive tale about family, identity and coming of age, Wing Jones does an excellent job of presenting a mixed-race heroine in a supportive and loving family, but one with its own complex stresses and differences. The experience of being the sibling of a very successful brother is finely drawn, as is Wing’s blossoming first romance, which runs alongside her own development as an athlete, with sensitivity to the interplay of Wing being true to herself and coping with overwhelming new feelings. Wing’s two matriarch grandmothers are especially wonderful and provide an extra, magical element to a well-rounded story about love, family and ambition.”' BookTrust

'“Girls of 13 upwards will love the emotional intensity and honesty of the novel.”' The School Librarian

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Paperback
£7.99

Buy

Find a local retailer:

Also available in:

Ebook

Recently viewed