Bigger image

More to explore...

  • Captain-Slaughterboard-Drops-Anchor

Mervyn Peake

MERVYN PEAKE (1911-1968) wrote poetry and plays, was a painter and illustrator and designed theatrical costumes. But he is best known for his Gormenghast trilogy, which includes the novels Titus Groan, Gormenghast and Titus Alone. Several of his works have since been adapted into television and radio plays. Mervyn Peake also illustrated memorable editions of such classics as Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The Hunting of the Snark, Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde and Treasure Island.

Bear Logo