Historic Kate Greenaway Medal win for Jon Klassen’s This is Not My Hat.


Jon Klassen wins Walker Books’ 10th Kate Greenaway Medal for This is Not My Hat, and becomes the only book to win both the Kate Greenaway and Randolph Caldecott Awards


We are absolutely delighted to announce that Jon Klassen has won the 2014 Kate Greenaway Medal for Illustration for his beautiful picture book This is Not My Hat.


The Greenaway Medal would always be an incredible achievement for any artist or publishing house, but for Walker Books this marks our TENTH Greenaway Medal, a feat unmatched by any other publisher, positioning Walker as the home of the very best in illustrative publishing.


Adding to this unique honour, Jon Klassen’s This is Not My Hat will also go into the history books as the first ever title to win both the UK’s highest illustration honour with the Kate Greenaway Medal, but also win the USA’s highest prize for illustration, the Randolph Caldecott Medal, which was awarded in 2013.


On winning the CILIP Kate Greenaway, Jon Klassen said:

"Winning this award is hugely encouraging. Making a book, you're kind of going out on a limb in the belief that what you think of as a satisfying story is the same as what other people think of as a satisfying story. This doesn't mean everything in the story turns out alright for everybody, but you, as a storyteller, try and make sure it ends the way the story should end. Any audience, children included, take reassurance from that. Storytelling is an act of community, of looking at one another afterward and agreeing that we enjoyed it, or not, whether the story itself portrays happiness or doom. The hope is found when we agree we liked it, and I'm so glad you liked this one."


Karen Lotz, Group Managing Director of the Walker Books Group said of the win;

“Jon Klassen’s cunning hat thief stole our hearts at Walker long ago, and we couldn’t be more thrilled that he has now stolen the hearts of the 2014 Greenaway committee in this historic win. We are particularly proud to be the global publisher of the first creator to win both the Randolph Caldecott Medal and the Kate Greenaway Medal for the same book. What on earth will the extraordinarily talented Mr. Klassen do next? Watch this space!”


Commenting on today’s historic announcement, Deirdre McDermott, Walker Books Picture Book Publisher said:

“We are all thrilled that Jon is the winner of this year’s Greenaway Medal – that tiny, hopeful fish with his teeny blue bowler hat has captured the imagination of so many children here in the UK and Ireland. It feels extra special for us that Walker Books' 10th Greenaway Medal should be won by This Is Not My Hat – stylish, witty picture book making at its very boldest.”


Here's the trailer for This is Not My Hat



2014 Jon Klassen, This is Not My Hat

2012 Jim Kay, A Monster Calls

2004 Chris Riddell, Jonathan Swift's “Gulliver”

2002 Bob Graham, Jethro Byrde-Fairy Child

2001 Chris Riddell, Pirate Diary

1999 Helen Oxenbury, Alice's Adventures in Wonderland

1997 P J Lynch, When Jessie Came Across the Sea

1995 P J Lynch, The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey

1988 Barbara Firth, Can't You Sleep Little Bear?

 1985 Juan Wijngaard, Sir Gawain and the Loathly Lady


  • 23/06/2014