All Our Hidden Gifts: eBook (Reflowable ePub)

By Caroline O’Donoghue

A dark and supernatural contemporary teen debut by author and journalist Caroline O'Donoghue.

I'll give up the tarot readings. I'll apologize to Lily. But Lily doesn't come to school on Monday. Or Tuesday. It's not until Wednesday that the police show up. Maeve Chambers doesn't have much going for her. Not only does she feel like the sole idiot in a family of geniuses, she managed to drive away her best friend Lily a year ago. But when she finds a pack of dusty old tarot cards at school, and begins to give scarily accurate readings to the girls in her class, she realizes she's found her gift at last. Things are looking up – until she discovers a strange card in the deck that definitely shouldn't be there. And two days after she convinces her ex-best friend to have a reading, Lily disappears. Can Maeve, her new friend Fiona and Lily's brother Roe find her? And will their special talents be enough to bring Lily back, before she's gone for good?

Categories: Ebooks

For readers aged: 14+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Reflowable
  • ISBN: 9781406399349
  • Published: 27 May 2021
  • Price: £7.99
  •  
  • Pages: 400

More to explore...

  • The-Gifts-That-Bind-Us
  • All-Our-Hidden-Gifts

More books for age 14+

  • The-Last-Hours-Chain-of-Iron
  • The-Gifts-That-Bind-Us
  • The-Revelry
  • Roxy

Customer reviews

Reviews

'A supernatural mystery plays out against the backdrop of contemporary Ireland, exploring the theme of acceptance without ever being heavy-handed. O’Donoghue has a keen eye for the complexities of friendships; I predict this one will be catnip to teenage readers.' The Observer

'From the author of Scenes of a Graphic Nature, this genuinely creepy novel is veined with mordant comedy and dreamy romance.' The Guardian

'Fabulous, richly imagined YA, full of folklore and romance: delicious.' Katherine Rundell

'overall this is a satisfying, entertaining read - with a well-deserved sequel due next year' SFX

'Thankfully, All Our Hidden Gifts by Caroline manages to present a non-binary character with subtlety and warmth. Perhaps it works so well because, being an occult-tinged mystery-romance steeped in Irish folklore, there’s a lot else going on. […] O’Donoghue’s intriguing story takes in myth, history, tensions between Catholic and Protestant, and race in Ireland. Helping the repentant Maeve search for the missing girl is Lily’s nail-polish wearing brother Roe, formerly Rory, who is the essence of fluidity in a novel that’s all about the power of liminal spaces.' The Financial Times

'Fiercely, furiously good. An utterly seductive read.'

'The talented O’Donoghue turns her hand to young adult fiction with this engrossing story of tarot, magic and teen friendship that recalls the best of Diana Wynne-Jones.' The i

'This YA debut from Caroline O’Donoghue knocked me sideways. About tarot, the complexity of friendship & so much more besides. So gripping, so intriguing, so layered and lovely and creepy – All Our Hidden Gifts feels like a book that should have always existed. I’m glad it does.' Kiran Millwood Hargrave

'All Our Hidden Gifts has the most authentic teenage voice I've read in ages. It's spellbinding in its ability to tap into teen issues such as friendship power battles, self-esteem, blooming romance, and social justice and then sprinkles it with magic. I was utterly bewitched, and know I would've read this book a thousand times when I was young.' Holly Bourne

'Grim, gripping and gorgeous. I devoured it.'

'Featured in Grazia’s The 30 Best Books We're Looking Forward To Reading in 2021.' Grazia

'Featured in Cosmopolitan's "The best books to look forward to in 2021"' Cosmopolitan

'O'Donoghue skilfully taps into the angst and intensity of teen friendships.' The Irish Examiner

'Fabulously witchy, feminist and full of the complexities of teenage friendships.' The Bookseller

'If you like your YA spooky and magical, All Our Hidden Gifts is the book for you![...] All Our Hidden Gifts is an emotionally rich novel of loneliness, friendship, and sacrifice. I liked the unpredictability of the story, and the characters absolutely won my heart.' Boswell Books

'I really enjoyed this story and the elements that were seamlessly woven in (i.e. gender fluidity, LGBQTIA) really added to the story. I liked that the author didn't pull any punches and didn't sugar coat anything. It's a great read!' The Wise Owl Books and Music

'This page-turner spans witchiness, friendship, loyalty, betrayal, predatory religious leadership, queer identity, homophobia, and more, all in a gripping story with a creative plot. A must-read!' A Seat at the Table Books

'But like the best stories about teenagers and the supernatural (this is very much in the vein of Buffy the Vampire Slayer and The Craft), it’s also a compelling fantasy in which magic is real and the forces of evil can be fought, if not quite permanently defeated… There is an attentiveness to diversity here that is thoughtful rather than tokenistic; race, gender identity, sexual orientation, class, and learning difficulties all come into play without it ever feeling forced. All Our Hidden Gifts is a fiendishly good novel that continues a recent mini-trend of “witchy” feminist Irish YA; long may it last.' The Irish Times

'This book has everything you need. … There are so many layers to this story and would highly recommend to anyone who loves a good mystery with a magical twist whilst also covering modern day social justice issues such a race, gender and LGBTQI+ discrimination.' Read Plus

'Filled to the brim with diverse characters, from different backgrounds, religions and sexual orientation. All Our Hidden Gifts has something for everyone. It is confrontational and creates conversations around sexuality and beliefs, both huge and important aspects... This book is so incredibly easy to read. The writing style is fluid allowing the reader to flow through the book easily... a whirlwind pf magic, friendship, acceptance and growth. Above all else, this book screams at the reader to be more accepting, be more aware that everyone has their own burdens, that life isn’t as simple as it appears' Bookish Intoxication

'All Our Hidden Gifts is a jam-packed paranormal YA fantasy. There is a lot happening within this novel, and while it can be overwhelming at times, you can’t help but turn the page to discover what happens next.' Readings

'This is a gripping supernatural thriller, with very real, relatable characters. Caroline O’Donoghue maintains the pace and suspense throughout. I especially liked that Maeve was imperfect, a teenager craving to fit in, as many teenagers do, and that she had to face up to her conscience in order to fix the mess that she created.' Kids Book Review

'A dark and supernatural contemporary teen debut by multi-talented author and journalist Caroline O'Donoghue.' Kids Book Review

'There is a strong focus on LGBTQ+ rights and gender fluidity which was done with grace and passion. It was a wonderful thing to see in this book. But there is also discussion around bullying, intolerance and hate crimes which gave this light book more depth.' Labs and Literature

'O’Donoghue’s accounts of the apparition are fantastically vivid, as are her descriptions of the fictional town of Kilbeg, with its eerily warm river and friendly neighbourhood Wiccan shop. […] All Our Hidden Gifts brings together an inclusive cast of characters, from the bisexual, genderqueer Roe to the biracial Fiona to Maeve’s lesbian sister Jo. Privilege consciousness is increasingly relevant in today’s world, and although O’Donoghue handles themes of tolerance and acceptance with a light touch for much of the novel, by the end, Maeve is confronted about her ignorance and urged to check her privilege so regularly that it starts to come across slightly like an after-school special, with pat lines such as: 'It’s strange how I never understood the immense privilege, the wealth, the love that I’ve had the luxury of growing up with.'' The Irish Independent

'I was so engrossed in this YA (young adult) novel that I read most of it in one sitting and my family had to drag me away from it to eat!... Maeve is a wonderfully drawn character, messy, impulsive and not always likeable but as loyal and determined as they come, and her friendship with Fiona and burgeoning relationship with Roe are deftly handled. O’Donoghue’s writing is sharp, witty and completely immersive, and you don’t read this book, you live it.' The Irish Independent

'Best: Overall Rating: 10/10 - We were absolutely floored by this debut YA novel from author and journalist Caroline O’Donoghue. […] A darkly seductive mystery with a supernatural sting in the tail, the novel examines guilt, sacrifice and friendship and we found ourselves growling at anyone who interrupted us during reading. The best bit? It’s the first in a series focusing on four protagonists – Maeve, Lily, Roe and Fiona – who each learn they have an other-worldly gift. Read it now before it’s inevitably turned into a Netflix blockbuster.' The Independent

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.


£7.99

Find your local bookshop:

Buy

Also available in:

Paperback

Recently viewed