Hell and High Water

By Tanya Landman

The heart-stopping tale of a young man's attempt to clear his father's name, from the Carnegie Medal-winning author of Buffalo Soldier.

From the author of the Carnegie Medal-winning Buffalo Soldier comes the heart-stopping tale of a young man's attempt to clear his father's name. When his father is arrested and transported to the Colonies, Caleb is left alone. After a desperate journey in search of an aunt he’s never met he receives a strange, cold welcome. Then a body washes up on the nearby beach and Caleb is caught up in a terrifying net of lies and intrigue. Soon he and his new family are in mortal danger. This powerful story holds the reader in suspense as it charts the growth of a frightened boy into a brave young man. Shortlisted for the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize.

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 12+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Hardback
  • ISBN: 9781406356618
  • Published: 01 Oct 2015
  • Price: £12.99
  •  
  • Size: 216 x 135 mm
  • Pages: 320

More to explore...

  • Beyond-the-Wall
  • Hell-and-High-Water

More books for age 12+

  • The-Loneliest-Girl-in-the-Universe
  • Poe-Stories-and-Poems
  • Tell-It-to-the-Moon
  • Such-Stuff-A-Story-maker-s-Inspiration
  • Truth-or-Dare
  • Love-Gelato

Customer reviews

Reviews

'Exploring prejudice and the corruption of the ruling classes, this absolutely gripping stuff. It can only be good news that more readers will find Landman’s books thanks to her Carnegie success.' The Bookseller

'A gripping historical novel for older children from a prize-winning author' Western Morning News

'Rich, exciting, intelligent historical fiction from a Carnegie-winning author.' Metro

'Heart-stoppingly good, romantic, passionate storytelling for a 12-plus audience.' New Statesman

'Landman won the Carnegie Medal for her previous book Buffalo Soldier and this year’s historical novel is just as gripping. […] Landman’s research is impeccable. Perfect for fans of Poldark.' The Times

'“…I was reminded of another novel set in this part of the world, Jamaica Inn, as the young hero has to learn who can be trusted and who cannot. Not everyone is hostile, of course, and the darkness and danger are leavened by genuine good heartedness and true affection. And humour. Caleb’s beloved father was a Punch and Judy man, and the Show tops and tails the novel, giving it a satisfying symmetry. That’s the way to do it!' Armadillo Magazine

'The pace is terrific, the plot having more twists and turns that your average five-season box set. The chapters are short and each one ends with a cliffhanger, and there are several major revelations that I didn’t see coming. It is clearly based on detailed research, and there’s a great sense of a particular time and place being brought to life in all its grit and gruesomeness. With its combinations of strong characters, important themes and terrific writing, Hell and High Water is an excellent example of the very high standard of current YA fiction.' The Guardian

'From Carnegie Medal-winning Tanya Landman, a heart-stopping tale of a boy clearing his father’s name.' The Bookseller

'This is a beautifully written, fast-paced novel. […]It is brilliant in the portrayal of the period and the corruption and inequality that controlled everyday existence for many. In Caleb and Letty I discovered two engaging characters with whom I empathized and I was delighted with the ending of their story. I would definitely recommend the novel.' Historical Novel Society Review

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Hardback
£12.99

Buy

Find a local retailer:

  • Awards:

Also available in:

Ebook
Paperback

Recently viewed