Nightshade

By Anthony Horowitz

Get ready for action, adrenaline and adventure in this explosive, brand new Alex Rider mission by bestselling author, Anthony Horowitz.

In this adrenaline-fuelled adventure in the number one bestselling series, Alex Rider is sent by MI6 Special Operations to infiltrate a new and sinister organization known only as Nightshade. Alex is on his own, with the fate of thousands of people resting in his hands.

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 9+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Hardback
  • ISBN: 9781406389296
  • Published: 02 Apr 2020
  • Price: £12.99
  •  
  • Size: 216 x 135 mm
  • Pages: 448

More to explore...

  • Secret-Weapon
  • Point-Blanc
  • Ark-Angel-The-Graphic-Novel
  • Nightshade

More books for age 9+

  • Glassheart
  • The-Midnight-Guardians
  • A-World-of-Art
  • Molly-Thompson-and-the-Crypt-of-the-Blue-Moon

Customer reviews

Reviews

'As ever, the plotting is meticulous and the pace relentless, but what is new is Alex’s dawning compassion for other children.' New Statesman

'Pacy and ingenious, as usual, this novel demonstrates a high level of philosophical complexity as it considers the nature of cults, religious extremism and our responsibility for each other, as well as involving karate, explosions and jumping out of planes.' The Sunday Times & The Sunday Times Ireland

'Anthony Horowitz is second to none at writing pageturners that children are desperate to read. Now he’s back with Nightshade, his 12th gripping adventure about teenage superspy Alex Rider.' Sunday Express (S Magazine)

'Fizzling with suspense, Nightshade is fast paced and thrilling – a delight for newcomers and old fans alike. It’s difficult to keep up the momentum in a series that began two decades ago, but once again Horowitz proves he is a master of his craft. Hopefully, this is not the last we shall see of teen hero Alex Rider.' Belfast Telegraph

'It's a chunky book and all the better for it. Filled with the usual pulse-quickening adventures from the teen super-spy, expect your young readers to disappear inside it's pages entirely. Great.' Angels & Urchins

'Nightshade is stomach-churningly fabulous.' Amanda Craig

'Featured in the Irish Examiner in ‘Page Turners for Every Bookworm’.' Irish Examiner

'Featured in a full page interview with Anthony Horowitz in SFX Magazine.' SFX

'The Nightshade virtual launch was covered in the Evening Standard.' Evening Standard

'Nightshade is an exhilarating page-turner that will thrill existing Alex Rider fans and convert new ones.' Booktrust

'Featured in The Week Junior in an author interview with Anthony Horowitz.' The Week Junior

'Featured in a full page interview looking back at 20 years of Alex Rider in First News.' First News

'Featured in an interview with Anthony Horowitz in The Daily Express.' The Daily Express

'Featured in The Sunday Mirror (Notebook).' The Sunday Mirror (Notebook)

'Featured in The Northern Echo.' The Northern Echo

'Syndicated as ‘Children’s Book of the Week’ by the Press Association and featured in a number of regional newspapers.' Press Association (syndicated in regional publications)

'Anthony Horowitz is on cracking form here: the plot is gripping, the characters — both familiar and new — are fully fleshed, and it sparkles with his characteristic wit. We could do with Alex Rider now . . .' The Daily Mail

'Syndicated as ‘Children’s Book of the Week’ by the Press Association.' Press Association (syndicated in regional publications)

'Featured in an interview on Fun Kids Radio with Anthony Horowitz.' Fun Kids Radio

'As usual, Horowitz delivers thrillingly choreographed action, impeccably researched backdrops and strong moral values. Brilliantly escapist but never losing touch with the believable.' Jewish Chronicle

'Featured in an interview in the Radio Times with Anthony Horowitz in a discussion about the upcoming release of the Alex Rider TV series.' The Radio Times

'Featured in ‘Stories to Charm on Endless Days’ in The Sunday Times.' The Sunday Times

'Featured in an interview with Anthony Horowitz in Teach Primary magazine.' Teach Primary

'Featured in the East Anglian Daily Times’ ‘Top 10 books to last the summer holidays’.' East Anglian Daily Times

'Nightshade is a high-energy read and a real page-turner – perfect for fans of Alex Rider.' The English Association and the United Kingdom Literacy Association Magazine

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Hardback
£12.99

Find your local bookshop:

Buy

Also available in:

Ebook

Recently viewed