Goddess Crown: eBook (Reflowable ePub)

By Shade Lapite

A YA feminist fantasy, full of romance, danger and courtly intrigue, from a dazzling debut writer.

For fans of Twin Crowns, and TikTok sensations The Woven Kingdom and To Kill a Kingdom. Kalothia has grown up in the shadows of her kingdom, hidden away in the East after her parents were outed as enemies of the king. When assassins attack her home on her sixteenth birthday, she must flee to the king’s court – a beautiful but lethal nest of poison, plots and danger, overseen by an entrenched patriarchy. Can Kalothia navigate this most worldly of places to find her own role? What if she must choose between her country and her heart?

Categories: Ebooks

For readers aged: 14+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Reflowable
  • ISBN: 9781529515367
  • Published: 01 Feb 2024
  • Price: £8.99
  •  
  • Pages: 304

More to explore...

  • Goddess-Crown

More books for age 14+

  • When-the-World-Tips-Over
  • Last-Seen-Online
  • Share-Better-and-Stress-Less
  • The-Mortal-Instruments-3-City-of-Glass

Customer reviews

Reviews

'Convincing, intricate world-building and strong characterisation add up to a stand out YA fantasy debut with a powerful feminist slant.' The Guardian

'Filled with breath-taking action sequences, scintillating romance and strong female characters, Goddess Crown is an exciting addition to the romantasy genre.' The Bookseller

'In a market dominated by US authors, this feminist fantasy from British Nigerian author Lapite is a breath of fresh air.' Ten Titles Not to Miss, The Bookseller

'Humming with a vibrancy drawn from its West African inspired cultural elements, like food, dress and music, Lapite has created a grounded world that operates outside of the reader’s field of vision, complete and autonomous… Fast-paced, the book ambitiously tackles its world’s spiritual belief system, not just as a background theme but interwoven through the social systems and politics of its ruling court. A début that will have the reader’s heart with the women of Galla, Goddess Crown is undoubtedly a book with something to say.' Inis Magazine, Children's Books Ireland

'Set in an opulent West African-inspired kingdom, this feminist fantasy blazes with revenge, courage and Goddess energy... a richly conjured feminist fantasy set in sumptuous West African- inspired Galla, a patriarchal kingdom that’s long conspired against women... Shot-through with suspense and forbidden love, the writing crackles with energy, and Kalothia — a fearless young woman who exposes how patriarchal teachings have misrepresented the Goddess — is a heroine no reader will forget in a hurry.' LoveReading4Kids

'The story’s well-timed action and tenacious protagonist make for page-turning thrills, and a lovely romance tucked away within its pages will make readers’ hearts flutter. However, the underlying theme of young women building reliable, strategic alliances in addition to friendships while living in patriarchal kingdoms is equally important... Lapite’s debut is a strong addition to the genre and a fine introduction to an enchanting world that is worth exploring. A punchy story radiating zeal and filled with suspense.' Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

'Teeming with betrayal, secrets, and power struggles, Lapite’s debut will have readers on the edge of their seats ... Kalothia’s determined spirit rings true, and her uphill battle will endear her to readers ... Readers looking for an inviting fantasy or who want a grounded experience will love Kalothia and root for her through her plight.' Booklist

'Opulence, beauty, and danger – Goddess Crown sweeps readers into a sumptuous new world that they won’t soon forget and introduces an unstoppable heroine in Kalothia. A magnificent and triumphant debut.' Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times best-selling author and chief operating officer of We Need Diverse Books

'An extremely fast paced feminist story that really packs up a punch.' NetGalley Reviewer

'Goddess Crown is a sumptuously written, imaginative and rich YA fantasy. Lapite’s writing was just delectable. It was so immersive and pulled you straight into this detailed world full of magic and power plays... full of ornate and character driven writing that compels the reader and introduces them to the treacherous world of Galla' A Short Book Lover

'Goddess Crown is a fast paced, action filled, feminist novel. The main female character is strong willed and assertive in what she wants. She does all she can for the people in the kingdom, and getting equal rights for the women of her land. It's easy to read, I finished it in 2 days, as I could not put it down. If there is a sequel coming out, I am eager to read it as well.' NetGalley Reviewer

'I LOVED THIS SO MUCH!!! I can’t even express how much this book has me filled with emotion. I can’t even speak. I adore the MC, she’s excellent. I loved the world building, Ye-Ye is a cherub, I loved all the side characters. I can’t wait for more with the romance, such a good build up. I usually don’t care about court intrigue but this story had me flicking the pages for more!! I just adored everything about this book. Such an amazing story and one of the best YA debut’s I’ve read in a very long time!!' Goodreads

'I quite literally devoured this book. What a fantastic debut! I'll be absolutely snapping up the next one.' Goodreads

'Overall this was an incredible read, I absolutely adored all the characters (espeically Nahir) and I fell head over heels in love with the plot. I am clawing for another book I NEED a second book set in this world (even though this one hasn't come out yet crying) please please please read it!' Goodreads

'Goddess Crown is a stunning YA novel full of danger, romance, diversity and feminism. An absolutely fantastic debut from Shade Lapite that is going to be wonderful sensation for teen readers. Introducing an enchanting world filled with betrayal, secrets, suspense and power struggles, readers will be gripped from the very start with this fast-paced and action-filled story [...] Goddess Crown is perfect for fans of the books Twin Crowns and This Woven Kingdom and will make a fabulous addition to any secondary school library. Fantasy fans are going to love this.' Little Blog of Library Treasures

'Goddess Crown has a strong rich cover, and the story lives up to all expectations… Discovering secrets about her own family combined with a burgeoning romance makes this an intriguing read.' NetGalley Reviewer

'This book is fast paced and the world building is brilliant.' NetGalley Reviewer

'Goddess Crown is a sumptuously written, imaginative and rich YA fantasy. Lapite’s writing was just delectable. It was so immersive and pulled you straight into this detailed world full of magic and power plays... full of ornate and character driven writing that compels the reader and introduces them to the treacherous world of Galla.' A Short Book Lover

'Brilliant book for girls. The main character is really empowering and strong. It deals with a lot of issues that many teenage girls may have to face such as loss, relations with parents, loneliness but in a completely different context. I really think this a great book for anyone adults and teens.'

'Goddess Crown is the book that you have to read… the book is really empowering and speaks to all the stuff we go through as teens, but in this epic fantasy world. It’s a must-read for everyone, no matter your age.'

'Very rarely do I find myself reading a book which I literally can't put down and this was one of them… he main character is very strong and empowers others throughout the book. I'll definitely be looking out for this author again.'

'A fabulous story of territory, betrayal, loyalty and friendship. Would recommend to anyone 12+' Toppsta Reviewer

'Absolutely brilliant. I couldn’t put it down. The main character Kalothia is strong, independent and empowering.' Toppsta Reviewer

'One of the best books that I have read for a long time… This is a fictional book, set in a fantasy kingdom, however, the writer manages to make it seem as if the kingdom really exists. All of the beautifully detailed sentences can create a perfect image in the reader's imagination.' Toppsta Reviewer age 14

'We were captivated to the end.'

'This story may be set in a fantasy world, but the issues that it raises are still too common in our own world today… a very readable story with a strong moral message.' Books for Keeps

'Honestly one of the best books that I have read for a long time.' Teen Review, Read for Good

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.


£8.99

Find your local bookshop:

Buy

Also available in:

Paperback

Recently viewed