The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One)

By Joseph Elliott

A rich fantasy adventure trilogy, full of warring clans, deadly shadows and devastating plagues...

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with. Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea. When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow... Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 12+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781406385854
  • Published: 06 Feb 2020
  • Price: £7.99
  •  
  • Size: 198 x 129 mm
  • Pages: 368

More to explore...

  • The-Broken-Raven-Shadow-Skye-Book-Two
  • The-Good-Hawk-Shadow-Skye-Book-One

More books for age 12+

  • The-Good-Hawk-Shadow-Skye-Book-One
  • Helen-Oxenbury-A-Life-in-Illustration
  • Lou-Out-of-Luck
  • The-Goose-Road

Customer reviews

Reviews

'With its blend of unusual character development and clever exploration of ancient realms, “The Good Hawk” is a story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they’ve been waiting for.' The New York Times

'The Good Hawk blends ancient myth and doses of spectacularly dark magic with the most likeable - and unlikely - pair of of heroes. A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away.'

'The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness, which Elliott cleverly lets reign in the closing epilogue, as he pushes the remarkable Agatha’s fate – not her clan’s – to the forefront.' The Irish Times

'The Good Hawk has 368 pages that are filled with a cast of weird and wonderful characters that the reader can engage with, and who have the most incredible adventures.' ReadingZone

'The Good Hawk is amazing, full of texture that will enliven the senses and imagination. Tense, enthralling, brilliant; an utter feast for lovers of fantasy and historical fiction.' Fallen Star Stories

'Debut author Joseph Elliott has managed to whip up a proper barnstormer with this Young Adult tale... This book is a charismatic charmer.' SFX

'The book swiftly draws the reader into a gripping adventure, which rarely lets up until the end. It’s historical fantasy, rich with Gaelic-inspired language and terrifying mythical creatures with deadly intent. This is a page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense.' BookTrust

'Elliott is an exciting new voice in fantasy; his characters feel familiar and loveable in a matter of pages, but he doesn’t shy away from packing punches where needed. With seemingly little effort, he weaves hope and humour with loss and heart-break, as well as lessons in sexuality and disability.' Press Association (syndicated in regional publications)

'Older readers will love this wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure story from Joseph Elliott. Woven through with magic and myth, it is a captivating read for fans of historical fiction.' The Week Junior

'This full-on fantasy novel is a rip-roaring adventure with a wonderful central character who can talk to animals with extraordinary effect – for slightly older fans of 'How To Train Your Dragon'.' Angels & Urchins

'A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut, filled with fearsome and compelling detail.' The Guardian

'Chapter extract and author interview featured in WRDETRA' WRDEXTRA

'This is a whimsical adventure told by a new voice in an ancient place. It is wild, dramatic and draped in legend. And I'm not just talking about the book. For the place is eerily beautiful also... This is a bold and beautiful tale of loyalty, friendship and understanding. It is not without its violence, and thus I wouldn't recommend it to readers under 12 . If that isn't you, then you really should read this book, if only for the new experience of reading Agatha's voice. In a world that also, sometimes, doesn't understand downs syndrome much like the clan and Agatha's associates, the author tells it well, never neglecting the story yet also showing experience and respect as he writes the character. I loved this book!' Toppsta

'At the start of the book you don't think it will lead to much but the book has many twists and turns that surprise the reader. The book is very good and written in a very interesting way and the characters are easily related to in some parts.' Toppsta

'This is one of those un-put-down-able stories, full of adventure, engaging characters and lots of emotion.' Toppsta

'I really enjoyed this book. It is set in Scotland and has a bit of violence but in places is also very funny. I'm really pleased that its a trilogy so I get to read what happens next.' Toppsta

'This is a gripping read with convincing characters. I particularly enjoyed reading Agatha’s sections in the book as it was written in a unique way and I thought her point of view was interesting. The story is set in mythical Scotland and has many compelling mysteries to keep the reader engaged. I would recommend this read for anyone above 12 (there is quite a lot of violence) who would enjoy an adventure story.' Toppsta

'Featured in Parent Talk.' Parent Talk

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Paperback
£7.99

Find your local bookshop:

Buy

Also available in:

Ebook

Recently viewed