The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One)

By Joseph Elliott

A rich fantasy adventure trilogy, full of warring clans, deadly shadows and devastating plagues...

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back? Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with. Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea. When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow... Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars, Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

Categories: Fiction

For readers aged: 12+

  • Publication details:
  • Format: Paperback
  • ISBN: 9781406385854
  • Published: 06 Feb 2020
  • Price: £7.99
  •  
  • Size: 198 x 129 mm
  • Pages: 368

More to explore...

  • The-Good-Hawk-Shadow-Skye-Book-One

More books for age 12+

  • The-Good-Hawk-Shadow-Skye-Book-One
  • Helen-Oxenbury-A-Life-in-Illustration
  • Lou-Out-of-Luck
  • The-Goose-Road

Customer reviews

Reviews

'With its blend of unusual character development and clever exploration of ancient realms, “The Good Hawk” is a story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they’ve been waiting for.' The New York Times

'The Good Hawk blends ancient myth and doses of spectacularly dark magic with the most likeable - and unlikely - pair of of heroes. A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away.'

'The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness, which Elliott cleverly lets reign in the closing epilogue, as he pushes the remarkable Agatha’s fate – not her clan’s – to the forefront.' The Irish Times

'The Good Hawk has 368 pages that are filled with a cast of weird and wonderful characters that the reader can engage with, and who have the most incredible adventures.' ReadingZone

'The Good Hawk is amazing, full of texture that will enliven the senses and imagination. Tense, enthralling, brilliant; an utter feast for lovers of fantasy and historical fiction.' Fallen Star Stories

'Debut author Joseph Elliott has managed to whip up a proper barnstormer with this Young Adult tale... This book is a charismatic charmer.' SFX

'The book swiftly draws the reader into a gripping adventure, which rarely lets up until the end. It’s historical fantasy, rich with Gaelic-inspired language and terrifying mythical creatures with deadly intent. This is a page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense.' BookTrust

Write your own review

By submitting a review you grant us the right to display and use it in any way; please read our General Legal Notices for full details. If you are under 16, please obtain your parent/guardian’s permission before submitting or ask your parent/guardian to submit on your behalf.

Paperback
£7.99

Buy

Find a local retailer:

Also available in:

Ebook

Recently viewed